Guest Post The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

bestofjonathanscorner

Guest Post

God, as commonly understood, is said to be invisible. But I would like to make a slightly deeper exploration, along similar lines to what I said about “Do not store up treasures on earth” in Treasures in Heaven: The Inner Meaning of “Do Not Store Up Treasures on Earth”.
C.S. Lewis’s Till We Have Faces is considered by many Lewis fans to be Lewis’s best work, a point on which Lewis agreed: “I think it much my best work but not many people agree.” I have heard one woman nominate it as the best male author’s portrayal of a female character she’d seen. My own reaction was that I thought a lesser work would be easier for me to relate to. And in fact all these puzzle pieces fit together. Lewis is doing an impressive job of portraying the character and narration of a woman, an old woman, a cramped woman with a warped, toxic love for her sister (a love that would rather kill her than join her and step into her larger world), and most of the features that I find endearing in Lewis’s writing are excluded by design. It is, so to speak, a work C.S. Lewis executed so well that it does not seem to be a work by C.S. Lewis. And even though I know that I would be asking for a lesser work, I really would have found it easier to relate to if Lewis had done a more half-baked job, with his usual charm and grandeur in plain sight at first glance.
Something of the same is true of God’s care for the whole world: I would find it a lot easier to appreciate if He were doing a more half-baked job. A good deal of my prayers have been asking him to operate according to my cramped desires when He is trying to draw me into an infinitely larger world.
And that brings me to a complex of articles on themes that run throughout The Best of Jonathan’s Corner. God is greater than anything else that can be thought, and indeed greater than can be thought, as prayed in Doxology. God looks over and provides for all people, as explored in God the Spiritual Father. This life is an apprenticeship meant to lead to an eternal glory, as studied in Apprentice gods. Many of these threads come together in the work that opens the whole collection, a sort of heavenly and angelic counterpart to Lewis’s The Screwtape Letters, namely The Angelic Letters. Some of how this has worked out in my own life is in An Author’s Musing Memoirs, and later in A Shaft of Grace.
In all of this, God is invisible, not only literally in that he cannot be seen, but his Plan and his Providence are invisible even to many eyes of faith. But now as in any time, God is present and at work. No matter who governs, or what diseases and scares there are, or what economic conditions, there is an invisible hand governing all for each. We have a say in the choices we make, but in all of these there is Someone behind it all, working our good if we will cooperate.
All​ of these works (besides Till We Have Faces and The Screwtape Letters) are included in The Best of Jonathan’s Corner.

About The Book

the-best-of-jonathans-corner-front-coverTitle: The Best of Jonathan’s Corner

Author: CJS Hayward

Genre: Creative non-fiction / many genres / religion and spirituality / Eastern Orthodox

The Best of Jonathan’s Corner, newly expanded ​ after getting five star reviews​, is a collection of varied works of Eastern Orthodox mystical theology. It spans many topics and many different genres of writing, but it keeps coming back to the biggest questions of all. It is inexhaustible: the works are independent, and you can read a few, many, or all of them to suit your taste. Fans of CS Lewis and GK Chesterton will love it.

Author Bio

wardrobe_full Christos Jonathan Seth Hayward wears many hats as a person: author, philosopher, theologian, artist, poet, wayfarer, philologist, inventor, web guru, teacher.

Some have asked, “If a much lesser C.S. Lewis were Orthodox, what would he be like?” And the answer may well be, “C.J.S. Hayward.”

Called “Jack of all trades and master of many” by one boss, he also wears many hats professionally: open source / IT generalist, front end developer, JavaScript programmer, back end web developer, Pythonista, PHP and Perl user, Django developer, end to end web developer, Unix/Linux/Mac wizard, LAMP guru, SQL generalist, Unix shell (both using existing shells and implementing a new shell), system administrator, researcher, technical writer, usability advocate, UI developer, UX/IA enthusiast, and more.

Hayward has lived in the U.S., Malaysia, England, and France, and holds master’s degrees bridging math and computers (UIUC), and philosophy and theology (Cambridge).

Links

http://tinyurl.com/best-of-jonathans-corner

http://CJSH.name

http://amazon.com/author/cjshayward

http://JonathansCorner.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s